Date of Award

Spring 2019

Document Type

Thesis Restricted

Degree Name

Master of Music (MM)


Music Theory and Composition

Committee Chairperson

Robert Maggio, Ph.D

Committee Member

Adam Silverman, Ph.D

Committee Member

Jacob Cooper, D.M.A.


This thesis is a culmination of an initial synthesis that reached its development as a string quintet. With the original theme declared in three of the four movements, the work approaches the neo-classical realm and departs from more traditional forms of small chamber writings. This score is set for violin I, violin II, viola, cello and double bass. The first movement presents an energetic flow of motion in G major that inevitably states the primary theme in the cello with a stream of perpetual runs in the upper strings migrating to C minor by the final bar. The second movement begins with a toe-tapping stroll in D major that is followed by a trio to include violin I, viola and cello and ends in D major with the opening theme, framing the ABA format. A suspended high E note, played by the violin I, begins the third movement in E minor, accompanied by pizzicato statements in the lower strings that eventually present a desolation of sustained chords to end this movement with a wandering F sharp in the supertonic of the ending chord. The final movement begins with stately halfnote chords in A major and traverses through several minor keys, to re-state the initial theme presented in the first movement.